

African Union, African Regional Bodies

Resolution on the fiftieth independence anniversary of Zambia

Legislation as at 23 October 2014

There may have been updates since this file was created.

PDF created on 4 October 2024 at 09:56.





About this collection

The legislation in this collection has been reproduced as it was originally printed in the Government Gazette, with improved formatting and with minor typographical errors corrected. All amendments have been applied directly to the text and annotated. A scan of the original gazette of each piece of legislation (including amendments) is available for reference.

www.laws.africa info@laws.africa

FRBR URI: /akn/aa-au/statement/resolution/pap/2014/3-5-6/eng@2014-10-23

There is no copyright on the legislative content of this document. This PDF copy is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License (CC BY 4.0). Share widely and freely. African Union

Resolution on the fiftieth independence anniversary of Zambia

Published on 23 October 2014

Commenced

[This is the version of this document from 23 October 2014.]

In accordance with Article 2 of the Protocol to the Treaty establishing the African Economic Community relating to the Pan-African Parliament, and the provisions of Rules 60 and 63 of the Rules of Procedure of the Pan-African Parliament,

The Pan-African Parliament,

- 1. Recalling the values and general principles that led to the creation of the African Union by the Founding Fathers;
- 2. Noting with pride the pressing need of the African People to gain their independence so as to consolidate the aspirations of their people for greater unity, solidarity and cohesion;
- 3. Reflecting and remembering the tremendous sacrifices the people of Zambia endured as a result of their support and solidarity for the independence of Southern Africa States.
- 4. Recalling with satisfaction that Zambia, under the leadership of Dr Kenneth Kaunda the first President of Zambia, was a member of the Front Line States that facilitated the independence of several Southern African States such as Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Angola, Namibia and South Africa.

RESOLVES to congratulate Zambia on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of its independence gained on 24 October 1964.

Midrand, 23 October 2014.